8 Travel Blogger Poses You Should Try: Make Your Next Vacation Pics Fabulous!

As I browse my SarjeantsOnFire Instagram Feed every morning,  I noticed that travel  bloggers always have such artistic pictures.  Besides, the awesome photography, many enliven their pics with imaginative poses.  I think it gives the photos more character a joie de vivre quality.

So I did some research and found what I thought were some of the most common poses travel bloggers used to create their masterpieces .  I looked at pictures from the travelbloggeres Instagram feed which has over 105,000 followers to see the types of pictures they are reposting from their hashtag #iamtb.   If they choose to repost your pic it will get over 1,000 likes, which means nothing except to say it is probably a good picture.

Here’s my choices for the most creative and artistic poses.

1.  The Backie Pose

collage backie
#backie

You just don’t see as many artistic selfies anymore.  Don’t get me wrong, I am not against the selfie, you can get many a cute selfie.  I just think they have run their course.

To me, the #backie is the new selfie and I think a much nicer shot.  Unfortunately, it requires a little bit of work.  But with minimal effort you can catch this shot, either by  propping and setting a timer, or actually engaging another human being to help you!  Hey that’s a novel concept, strike up a conversation with a stranger.

2.  The Y BACKIE Pose

collage Y backie
#ybackie

Lots of travel bloggers use the Y Backie pose because it gives the photo a carefree look.  I love the vibe it sends out, you can definitely feel the energy when you see the #ybackie pose.  You can almost hear them screaming out, “Look At Me World !!!!!!! ”

3.  The Follow Me To Pose

collage dont let go
#followmeto

The Follow Me To pose, is a wonderfully creative pose started by a couple 5 years ago while traveling the world.  Read all about their Follow Me To Project on their blog.  The pose is usually of a girl reaching back, grabbing a guy’s hand.  There are definitely variations on this pose, but what a beautiful way for a couple to show their love in a picture.  Awww.

4.  The Look At What I’m Holding Pose

collage pretend
#lookatwhatImholding

This has to be my favorite pose.  If you know me, then you know I love ‘clever’ and these poses are extremely clever.  They’re different and very well thought out.  I like that.  It shows your creativity and playfulness.

Look at this pic below, you’d have to be living under a rock if you haven’t seen this picture everywhere.   It has over 20,000 likes just on Instagram! HelloKrissay posted this in April.  This will probably go down as one of the most iconic #lookatwhatImholding poses on social media.  It is so darn creative!!!!

Screen Shot 2017-05-17 at 10.15.02 PM

collage leaning tower
#lookatwhatIamholding – Leaning Tower of Pisa

5.  The Jump Shot Pose

collage front action
#jumpshot

The #jumpshot pose if you can capture it, is very cool.  It speaks for itself.  I am not a photography pro, so I have no idea how hard it is to catch these but if you can, more power to you.  I know with the iPhone you need to hold down the photo button to snap ‘bursts’ of photos–then go through and find your shot.

*Ladies, I don’t advise doing this in a dress because personally I think it detracts from the photo and what you are trying to show (or not show….if you get my drift).

6.  The Backie Stick Pose

The #backiestick pose, is cute but with a few changes.  Something about holding a selfie stick behind you, that we can CLEARLY see, detracts from the picture.  You miss the composition of the photo and just keep thinking about the silly stick.

The couple at the bottom right has captured it perfectly.  You can see they are looking at a beautiful building together, and you get to look at it with them.  The selfie stick is basically hidden so it doesn’t distract you.

Bottom line, I like the #backiestick pose, just keep the stick out of the pic.

7.  The Body Part Pose

collage body part
#bodypart

The #bodypart pose, is one step away from a travel photograph without people in it.    There is still lots of character, creativity and personality in the picture without sticking your face or back in.   Lots of whimsy in a #bodypart pose.  Tip: Just make sure your body part is well groomed, you know nicely manicured nails, clean feet, etc. — LOL.

8.  The Pretending Not To Look Pose

pretending not to look
#pretendingnottolook

The Pretending Not To Look Pose, is so much more creative than facing a camera straight on and smiling.    Looking away in a photo, is less edgy and gives it a surreal dreamlike quality to me.

No matter how you pose, you have to start with a quality pic.  The photo should be able to stand alone.  By that, I mean a beautiful shot without a human in it.  Posing just adds your personality and creativity to the picture.  A travel memory you can enjoy for years to come!

I dare you to try a few and see if you don’t like your pics better.  As Mike and I start to travel the world more, I have been trying to be more creative with my pics–hopefully I can.

But, remember if all else fails, just get out the selfie stick and smile, who cares it’s your pic and your memory–do what you are comfortable with!

Now “Go Forth And Set The World On Fire!”

~Mike and Donna~

Leave a Reply

